The Department of Art at Youngstown State University hosted the 2014 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition in Bliss Hall on Saturday, January 18th. Artwork from students in Mahoning, Trumbull, Columbiana, and Ashtabula Counties in grades 7-12.

The ceremony featured awards given to those in 7th through 12th grade who received Gold and Silver Key awards as well as Honorable Mention awards.

The regional entries reflect each participating school’s outstanding student work. From these entries a panel of judges selected works to receive Honorable Mention, Silver and Gold keys and five nominations for the prestigious American Visions Awards. The American Visions Award and Gold Key finalists will be sent to New York City where they will compete for awards and possible scholarships with other student entries from across the nation.

The Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition program is designed to encourage student creativity, provide the opportunity for enrichment by interaction with their contemporaries, and bring student artwork into the public view.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest and most comprehensive annual student art competition in America. Founded in 1927 by Scholastic Inc., the Scholastic Art Awards program is dedicated to recognizing the achievements of young artists. The program has recognized more than 13 million creative teenagers, including Andy Warhol and Robert Redford in its 90 year history.

Greg Moring, Chair of the Department of Art, said, “The Scholastic Art Awards program is an outstanding way to showcase middle and high school artwork in our region. The Department of Art is pleased to host this year’s events.”

The following schools are participating in the 2014 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition:

Mahoning County Schools: Austintown Fitch High School, Boardman High School, Boardman Center Middle School, Boardman Glenwood Middle School, Cardinal Mooney High School, Canfield High School, Canfield Middle School, Chaney High School, Holy Family School, Jackson Milton High School, Mahoning County Career and Technical Center, Poland Seminary High School, Poland Middle School, Saint Christine School, Struthers High School, Ursuline High School, Youngstown East High School.

Trumbull County Schools: Bloomfield-Mespo High School, Bristol High School, Brookfield Local Schools, Chalker High School, Howland High School, Howland Middle School, Hubbard High School, Jefferson PK-8 School, John F. Kennedy High School, Joseph Badger Local Schools, Lakeview Local High School, Liberty High School, Lincoln K-8 School, Mathews High School and Junior High School, Mineral Ridge High School, Niles McKinley High School, Niles Middle School, Warren Jefferson High School, Trumbull Career and Technical Center, Victory Christian School, West Branch High School.

Columbiana County Schools: Columbiana County Career and Technical Center, Leetonia High School, Leetonia Middle School, Lisbon High School- David Anderson Junior/Senior High School, Salem High School, United Local High School.

Ashtabula County Schools: Grand Valley High School.

The Grand Patron Sponsor was Akron Children’s Hospital Mahoning Valley, Other Sponsors included: Youngstown State University Department of Art, Boardman Rotary, and BOC Water Hydraulics, Inc.